China Accedes to Arms Trade Treaty

This week, China acceded to the Arms Trade Treaty, which will bring the total number of States Parties to 107, the country’s Foreign Ministry announced on Tuesday.

Follow New Defence Order. Strategy on Google News.

On July 6, Ambassador Zhang Jun deposited China's instrument of accession to the Arms Trade Treaty to UN Secretary-General Guterres.

"The Chinese government attaches high importance to the problems caused by the illicit transfer and abuse of conventional arms. China supports the purposes and goals of the ATT and agrees on taking necessary measures to regulate international arms trade and combat illicit arms transfer," said Zhang Jun, China's permanent representative to the UN, at a virtual press conference after depositing the instrument of accession document Monday.

"Meanwhile, China always strictly regulates export of military articles with policies and management measures meeting, or in some areas even exceeding, ATT requirements," the ambassador said, adding that it is worth pointing out that China  allows arms export only to sovereign states and not nonstate actors.

"Accession to ATT is an important step in China's participation in global arms control governance to safeguard the international regime of peace and stability. It demonstrates China's resolve and sincerity in supporting multilateralism, maintaining international arms control regime, and forging a community with a shared future for mankind," said Zhang.

"It is worth pointing out that China only allows export to sovereign states, not non-state actors. This fully demonstrates our high sense of responsibility," he added.

This announcement marks the conclusion of the legal procedures of China's accession to ATT. It will enter into force for China in 90 days from July 6.

The Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) is a multilateral treaty that regulates the international trade in conventional weapons. The ATT was adopted by the UN General Assembly on April 2, 2013, and entered into force on Dec. 24, 2014. It now has 107 states parties with China's accession, further 32 states have signed but not ratified it.

Our partners